Maple Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins

Maple Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins

{Maple Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins}

I’m lucky enough to have a job where I can somewhat make my own schedule. Generally, I get in at 8am because I’ll have a meeting or obligation I need to attend. But, if I decide that I want to come in at 9am one day, my supervisor is cool enough that she doesn’t watch me like a hawk.

Not everyone can have this luxury.

Most people are rushing around in the morning to either beat traffic, catch the metro, or in D.C.’s case, bike to work. And since I know everyone eats breakfast (right?…….riiiiight???), being able to “grab-n-go” is ideal.

[Insert] The very awesome and totally delicious Maple Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins.

Maple Oatmeal Breakfast Muffin greatness

I was daydreaming at work the other morning, after rushing out the door while scarfing my breakfast in two minutes flat, and started wondering what it would be like to take my oatmeal to go. I wanted something I could hold in my hand, that didn’t require utensils, but still reflected the goodness of everything I would put in my morning bowl of oatmeal (which I eat almost every day for breakfast). That’s when it hit me.

I will put everything in a bowl, mix it together, add a few key ingredients, and eat my oatmeal in muffin form.

“I am a genius,” is what I said out loud at my desk. But then quickly retracted the statement when I realized that the idea was nothing new.

Damn.

But wait! Sure, there are oatmeal muffin recipes out there. But none that included everything that I wanted.

So, I sat at my desk and started writing out my own recipe. And two trial runs, a few alterations, and a few dozen muffins later, I came up with my perfect oatmeal breakfast muffin. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. Warm, slathered in smooth, creamy peanut butter, or earth balance. Or in my case…both.

slathered with earth balance & peanut butter!

Maple Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins

These muffins are just how a breakfast muffin should be. Sturdy enough to wrap in a napkin and throw in your bag, but doesn’t resemble the taste of cardboard. They are oil free and, I think, pretty low in sugar. Be sure you are using whole wheat pastry flour and not whole wheat flour, which is a bit heartier than the pastry flour. I also used applesauce in this version because that’s what I had on hand, but I imagine you could use the same amount of a mashed ripe banana.  

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup almond milk (or your favorite non-dairy milk)
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 flax egg (whisk 1 T ground flax seeds with 3 T water)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 T brown sugar (I used dark)
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)
  • 1-2 T chia seeds (optional)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 12 cup muffin tin with non-stick spray. Set aside until ready.

In a liquid measuring cup, wisk together almond milk and apple cider vinegar and let sit for a couple of minutes. In the meantime, make your flax egg by combining ground flax seeds with water in a bowl. I use my blender to grind whole flax seeds, or you could use a coffee bean grinder. Wisk together for a minute until it resembles an “egg white” consistency.

In a large mixing bowl, combine rolled oats and almond milk/vinegar mixture with a large wooden spoon until all the oats are wet. Add the flax egg, apple sauce, maple syrup, and brown sugar. Stir together until well combined. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. Add dry ingredients to wet and combine with wooden spoon. Be careful not to over mix. If using, fold in raisins and chia seeds. Immediately distribute mixture to muffin cups evenly, almost to the top. Don’t be shy! Bake for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let sit in muffin pan for almost 10 minutes before you remove them and onto a cooling rack.

wet ingredients   dry ingredientspeek-a-boo!

What would be in your perfect oatmeal muffin??

UPDATE on 3/10/12:  After a run today, I realized that these are an excellent recovery snack, especially if you add the chia seeds. They would also be great to bring on long hikes for that extra boost of energy! 🙂

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. the drippiness of that peanut butter is epic. good looking muffins 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yay a healthy muffin, perfect for Sunday mornings, I love the idea of the appley-ness, will certainly try these out.

    Reply
  3. Good day! Do you know if they ake any plugins
    to safeguard against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing
    everything I’ve worked hard on. Any tips?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

