The Final Countdown (aka The Bucket List)

Sunrise over the Potomac

{sunrise over the potomac river}

Everyone has one. Whether or not you write it down, you have one. But not everyone calls it the same thing. I recently read a slew of different terms for The Bucket List, and immediately fancied The Final Countdown. Being a huge (and I mean HUGE) lover of all things ’80’s, especially music, I’ve decided from now on that I will use the above titled post as my reference to what most people call, The Bucket List. I dare you to say The Final Countdown with out singing the title….I, dare you.

Well, if you didn’t before, you will now.


You’re welcome 🙂

And don’t tell me hearing that song doesn’t make you want to kick ass and take names. It’s way more motivating than watching the movie The Bucket List, with Jack Nicholson & Morgan Freeman….come on, that’s just depressing. Am I right??

I rest my case.

I wrote my own Final Countdown a while back, and just recently stumbled across it again. The problem with a list like this, is that most people ponder things, or write them down, and never think twice about them again until a life-changing event happens (i.e. illness, death, job change, boredom…you know, the usual). Although some things may require monetary support, other things can easily be scratched off the list. That’s where laziness comes into play.

Until recently, I found myself coasting along the wave of life. Up and down, back and forth. Not really enjoying the smaller things in life, or even reaching for the bigger ones. Then, just like most people, my world was jolted a bit by a major event in February. Our fire department had a line of duty death. The first one in over 100 years. So to say that myself, Chris, the rest of the department, and of course his wife and family were jolted, is most definitely an understatement. The whole experience was surreal, and I wouldn’t wish it on anyone.

It was shortly after this happened that I decided to get off my lazy ass and do one of those things on The Final Countdown.  

I started a food blog.   

The Final Countdown:

1)        Travel to Ireland, Hungary, Germany, England, India, South America
2)       Go on an African Safari
3)       Learn to play guitar
4)       Sing in front of a crowd
5)       Graduate from a culinary school/program
6)       Do a triathlon
7)       Be an artist in an art show
8)       Have kids
9)       Hike a portion of the Appalachian trail
10)   Live in every different region of the country (so far we’ve lived in two)
11)   Start a food blog
12)   Start a business from home
13)   Grow a garden
14)   Rescue a farm animal
15)   Go in the Peace Corps
16)   Design and help build our own house
17)   Take a second honeymoon
18)   Start saving extra money for retirement
19)   Run a marathon for my 50th birthday
20)   Chris and I renew our vows every 5 years, in a different location each time
21)   Write a fiction novel
22)   Write a cook book

23)   Drive across the country
24)   Take a spontaneous trip out of the country
25)   Attend the Sundance Film Festival
26)   Keep myself healthy through prevention for the rest of my life (on-going)

As you can see, I’m not very far. But that’s okay. There are things I’ve already accomplished in my life that were on a previous Final Countdown that aren’t on this one. I’ve adopted a dog. I’ve run a marathon. I’m living in a different state other than Michigan. But you know, the cool thing is we can always edit our lists depending on where life takes us. Maybe you have 100 things on your list and haven’t even started. You may never accomplish everything on your list. Some people may never accomplish anything on their list. But making that list, and dreaming of those things is an accomplishment in and of itself. Just remember, that’s okay. We all have to start somewhere.

So get off your lazy ass, and start.

p.s. The same approach can be applied to your plant-based journey! 

p.s.s. Sunsets are overrated.

What is one thing you have on your Final Countdown list??

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I enjoyed reading your post, especially your Final Countdown list. I wish you much luck on completing your adventures. Peace.

    Reply
  2. Is it wrong that I can’t stop picturing Gob from Arrested Development whenever I hear this song?

    Great list! I share quite a few of your final countdown items, including starting a food blog. High Five!!

    Reply
    • It would be wrong if you didn’t! hahahaha thanks for checking it out. I plan on crossing things off as I go through the list, so be sure to check back on my Final Countdown page 🙂

      Reply
  3. Love it. Bucket lists are great – I see a few of mine on there too! Good to read about other ambitious folks too 🙂 I’ve got a few projects on the go and am (for now) totally maxed!!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Yeah I think it’s important to remember that you don’t need to get everything done at the same time. No one is timing you, so you should enjoy every second of it no matter how long it takes you! Good luck on your current and future projects 🙂

      Reply
  4. I love the list idea , I also have one in my head : )
    Hope you can complete your whole list ; )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

