Coconut Almond Biscotti

Coconut Almond Biscotti

Let me start off by saying I am NOT a coffee drinker. Never have been. I don’t really even drink tea all that often. I would much rather eat half a bar of dark chocolate than drink coffee to get my caffeine fix. Hence the reason I am a runner. I would probably be 50lbs heavier than I am if I didn’t, and based on how much food I can eat in one day, that’s actually an understatement. 

Situations where you might find me drinking coffee include:
1) A long, boring day at my office,
2) When I need to be really really creative, or
3) With a little homemade Bailey’s Irish cream mixed in.

Then, there are those rare occasions when you might find me outside sipping an espresso at this little cafe in Old Town, called Bread & Chocolate (my two favorite things).

I will then be up until 3am cleaning our apartment.

Shoot.

The only other time I may be drinking coffee?

When eating biscotti! Because really, how can you enjoy a great slice of biscotti if you don’t have a nice warm cup of coffee to go with it?

I’ve only made biscotti one other time in my life, and it was in my senior year of college. So I thought it would be a disaster this time around, considering I wasn’t baking with eggs.

WRONG.

Let’s just say I gave myself a big pat on the back when these came out of the oven. And after his first bite, Chris promptly said, “wow, this is really good!”

I baked this yesterday just for the two of us…

We have three pieces left. 

sliced biscotti
Coconut Almond Biscotti

Makes two loaves, about 24 slices

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 T ground flax seeds
  • 1/2 cup, plus 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sucant sugar (or other granulated sugar)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (liquid form)
  • 1 tsp almond extract

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Separately in a medium bowl, whisk together ground flax seeds and 1/2 cup water for about one minute. Add sugar, coconut oil, and almond extract, and whisk until well combined. Make a well in the center of dry ingredients, pour wet ingredients into center, and combine with a wooden spoon. The dough will be very heavy, but if it’s too stiff add 1/4 cup water a little at a time. You don’t want the dough to be too sticky.

Divide the dough in two and form into rolls almost as long as your cookie sheet. Place on the cookie sheet and flatten until about an inch thick. Put in the pre-heated oven and bake for 25 minutes. Remove and let cool long enough so that you can slice into 1/2 inch thick pieces. Arrange back onto cookie sheet (or sheets, if there isn’t enough room to fit all of them) and bake for another 10 minutes, flipping after 5 minutes. Remove and let cool on rack. Top with a simple glaze or dunk into your favorite coffee. I did both!

Glaze

  • 1/2 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1-2 T water or almond milk
  • 1 tsp almond extract

Whisk all ingredients together until smooth. Start with 1 T water and increase for a thinner glaze, if desired.

loaves

biscotti goodness 
glazey goodness

Even Martin sat ‘pretty’ for the biscotti 🙂

Martin sittin' pretty

What do you like to snack on with your cup o’ joe??

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. What pretty biscotti! I’ve never made biscotti, but they sound like the perfect sweet treat to balance the bitterness of coffee. I bet they’d also be delicious with a black English breakfast tea. How cute is Martin? Adorable!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! I’ll trying it with tea next time. And yes, Martin is pretty much the most handsome husky-mix I’ve ever seen 😉

      Reply
  2. I would like to make this because it looks delicious .. AND Martin is so darn cute!!
    Is the biscotti crunchy?

    Reply
    • This biscotti isn’t as crunchy as your typical one, but that’s just because I like it that way 🙂 You could definately bake it a bit longer to make it that way though!

      Reply
  1. Coconut Oil, I love thee. « Have Food | Will Feast

Leave a Reply

