Rise & Shine Juice

rise & shine!

{rise & shine!}

Once again I am lagging behind on my blog posts. After coming home from Vegas a few weeks ago, the next two weekends we had guests in town. And when you live across from D.C., sight-seeing is a given for visitors. You’d think we get sick of seeing the same monuments and museums, but surprisingly there are new and different things every time. Although at times I feel suffocated by the rush of the city , that’s one of the great thing about living here. There’s no excuse to be bored because there’s always something to do.

Like take a bike tour around D.C…

or watch your cabbie get arrested for putting too many people in the car…

and you guessed it…eating out for every meal four days in a row…two weekends in a row.

I know, you’re probably saying to yourself, “why don’t you use this opportunity to show them your awesome vegan culinary skills??”

Because, I’m lazy. And when you’ve been walking around all day dazzling your guests with historical sites and planning for your next adventure, it can be hard to think about this ahead of time. Plus, there are so many great eateries in this city that it can be fun discovering new ones that cater to us veggies.

During the wonderfully busy weekends (with perfect weather!), we stumbled upon a great restaurant with outdoor seating called Gordon Biersch Brewery. Their regular menu only had a few vegetarian options, but most of them were very rich (think creamy pasta). Then I noticed in small print they had a vegetarian menu upon request!

Ask and you shall receive!

veggie menu

It all sounded so good, and I was having a serious moment of indecisiveness. Luckily, our waitress was a vegetarian too and made some suggestions. So I got the southwest vegetable taco without cheese, to make it vegan.

The tacos were amazing, and the garlic fries were even better!

*sigh* I will always been a junk-foodie at heart…

southwest veggie tacos!

{southwest veggie tacos}

I managed to stick to a vegetarian diet of course, but the challenge was seeking out vegan options. There were other restaurants that were accommodating to this, but not all. Bread, fried foods and salads seemed to be as vegetarian as some of them got. I don’t know about you, but I can only eat so many salads and french fries.

So after finally having some time to ourselves, Chris and I did some major detoxing this week. We’ve only had our juicer for three weeks (I got it for my birthday!) and I’ve already put a lot of mileage on that baby.

I bought some beets, not really knowing what to do with them because I’ve never cooked with beets in my whole life. But all I could think about was Schrute Farms as I was going through the check out line. To which I proceeded to laugh out loud.

Which resulted in some weird looks from other shoppers.

So this one is for all you juicers, who are also obsessed with The Office like me. I’m sure Dwight would be proud 🙂

rise & shine ingredients

Rise & Shine Juice

  • 4 large carrots
  • 2 apples or oranges, cut in half
  • 1 beet root*, cut in half
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1/2 lime

Juice all ingredients. Garnish with a lime slice and enjoy!

*I peeled the beet because it tasted a bit ‘earthy’ when I didn’t, but I don’t think it’s a must.

swirled rise & shine

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Welcome back 🙂

    I’m curious, what kind of juicer do you use?? I want to buy one in the next few months and would love to hear your thoughts!

    Lovely looking juice- amazing colour!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Gabby! I use the Omega Juicer. Not because I think it’s the best, but because Chris was wonderful enough to surprise me with one for my birthday 🙂 So there was no research involved. But, it works just fine for us!

      Reply
  2. That juice is such an unbelievable beautiful color :O

    Reply
  3. We are new to juicing also. Our first juicer was the Jack Lalane Pro Juicer. It works fine for a beginner but would like to move on to the Breville. Just need to save up some dimes. 🙂

    Reply
    • Glad to have a fellow newby juicer on the blog! I just got back from a 12 day vacay and I’m in desperate need of some detox time. My husband is at the store picking up all sorts of fresh goodies as I type this haha

      Reply

Leave a Reply

