May Foodie Penpal Reveal!

foodie penpal box

Oops! Someone has popped my Foodie Penpal cherry….

And her name was Heather!

And guess what? It was good….real good…

may foodie penpal

{kick-ass foodie box}

In case you’re not familiar, for a detailed explanation of the program, or to sign up, visit Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean!

Since Heather doesn’t have a blog, I won’t be connecting you to her on this post. However, if you stick around until the end I’ll let you know who I sent mine too!

My Foodie box couldn’t have come at a better time. You see, just days before it arrived, my grandfather passed away. I have a lot of great memories of him, mostly when I was younger. He and my grandmother lived in Silver City, New Mexico and a few years ago, moved back to Tucson, Arizona where my mother grew up. So with us in Michigan and them in the southwest, it made visitations difficult the older we got. Life got busy. I got busy. But that doesn’t make it okay.

I struggle with being away from family sometimes. Living in the D.C. area, we have no family (blood related). We have a wonderful family of friends, but many times I find myself wishing for a change that would bring us closer together. I have no regrets about moving. It was necessary for us to start our life together. But I don’t want to miss out on all the important moments that I can never get back.

Thankfully, I was able to fly out to Tucson for his memorial this past Friday, with Chris staying behind because of work. And because of my kick-ass foodie box, I didn’t have to worry about packing any snacks!

Yay 🙂

may foodie box

Heather and I exchanged e-mails, in which she asked all the right questions to make sure she picked out things I’d like, and avoid things I’d dislike. She was also pretty sneaky and even did her own re-con work on my blog…lemon poppy-seed cookie anyone??

The dark chocolate was gone by the end of the night, and the double chocolate cookie too. Honestly, did you expect anything less from me?

I also tried the granola by eating it with almond milk (like cereal). The rest I saved for my flight.

All I have left to say is….

THANK YOU, HEATHER!

You truly made my day/week/month by putting the thought and effort into my foodie box.

As for June, I decided not to participate because it is quite a busy month. I’m going to be in Texas (woohoo!) for 10 days and didn’t want to have to focus on anything but relaxing, fishing (don’t worry, catch & release only), and drinking margaritas. But don’t worry, despite my frequent hiatus, I still plan to send a couple of posts your way.

You’ve been warned.

P.S. I sent a foodie box to the wonderful Kyria at Travel Spot. You can check out her reveal post here!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Everything’s Bigger In Texas « Have Food | Will Feast

Leave a Reply

