Quinoa Corn Bake

quinoa corn bake

Here’s the thing about me: I absolutely LOVE comfort food. So much so, that when I was a kid I could put away an entire box of mac n’ cheese on my own. Potatoes were my favorite. And Sunday donuts were a tradition in my family.

Needless to say, I had quite the awkward stage as a tween.

Luckily, after several years, I evened out and found my way to the gym…..at college.

But enough about that…

Comfort food is still a huge part of my life. But in my new life as a vegetarian and 90% vegan, I’ve learned that butter, eggs, and cow’s milk aren’t all they crack up to be, and they certainly don’t always make everything taste better.

My mother-in-law makes a super good corn bake every year during the holidays. So good that last year I made it my mission to find the equivalent vegan version (pre-food blog days). I’m happy to report I was successful.

In this version, quinoa is the star. Quinoa (keen-wah) is a pseudo-grain that provides more protein per ounce than any other grain, such as rice. A one cup serving has 9 grams of protein, compared to 5 grams in brown rice. Not only that, it’s a complete protein that provides all nine essential amino acids, and is gluten-free. It’s also a good source of fiber, iron, magnesium and calcium. For those that are new to the vegetarian diet, this is a great place to start if you are worried about not getting enough protein in your diet. AND it’s low in fat with zero saturated fat (like all plant proteins).

Before you start, you’ll need to cook your quinoa. Here is a simple recipe from Savvy Vegetarian.

quinoa corn bake!


Quinoa Corn Bake

If you have one, use a cast iron skillet that can be used in the oven. It makes for the best results. Mine is 10 inches but any size will do as long it doesn’t fill to the brim. The mixture will be quite soup-y, but don’t worry…that’s what makes for a good corn bake!

  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup corn meal
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups almond or soy milk (I used regular almond)
  • 1 T cornstarch
  • 1 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1-2 T agave nectar
  • 3 cups cooked quinoa
  • sliced green onion (optional)
  • hot sauce (optional)

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees. Put the extra virgin olive oil in the skillet and place into the oven while it pre-heats (about 10 minutes).

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, corn meal, baking powder and salt. Pour milk into a separate medium-sized bowl, and whisk in cornstarch, then the apple cider vinegar. Let sit for a minute or two. Finally, whisk in the agave and quinoa. Pour wet mixture into dry and combine with a large wooden spoon.

Remove skillet from oven and pour in your mixture. Bake for 45 minutes, or until edges start to pull away from sides and the top is golden brown. Once it’s out of the oven, let it sit for a couple of minutes before serving. Top with green onion and hot sauce if desired!

quinoa corn bake!
What’s your favorite comfort food??

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Everything’s Bigger In Texas « Have Food | Will Feast

Leave a Reply

