Red Miso Dressing

miso!

A while back I received a request for a post about miso. It’s a strange, salty, and sometimes smelly ‘condiment’ that most people have never heard of. If you’re a fan of Asian foods, then you probably have. The first time I read about it was when skimming Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet back when I first became vegetarian.

I also once lived off of miso soup for a week straight.

Ahh the perks of being a young newlywed couple while living in a high rent district with low paying salaries.

Some might say, “I miss those days…”

I, do not. Especially when those days still creep up on us every now and then (due to still living in said high rent district, but with medium paying salaries).

Aaanyway, back to the miso

red miso

 

The Japanese word for “fermented beans,” miso is a soybean paste that is best known for its’ namesake in soup form. Many varieties will incorporate rice, barley or wheat to achieve their desired flavor. However, soybeans are almost always the base. There are also light and dark versions. My suggestion is to just pick one that looks good and experiment with it. In addition to soup or stock, miso can also be used as a spread, marinade or even mixed into mashed potatoes!

It has several health benefits, which include anti-aging properties, healthy bacteria for digestion and keeping your immune system up, as well as several vitamins, minerals and amino acids. Vitamin K , manganese and tryptophan being the main three. And at two grams of protein per tablespoon, I’d say it’s a better addition to various meals than most.

Oh, and did I mention that when stored in an airtight container in your refrigerator, miso can last for up to a year?

I’m creepin’ up on month ten.

While miso soup if great and all, I personally don’t want to drink it on 96 degree days that have a heat index of 102. Even in the air conditioning. So, I decided to supply you all with a nice and easy dressing for those cool, crisp salads you’ve been eating on hot summer days. Enjoy!

red miso dressing


Red Miso Dressing

Makes about 1/2 cup

  • 3 T red miso
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 2-3 tsp agave nectar
  • 1/2 tsp ground mustard
  • 1/8 salt

Put all ingredients in a bowl and whisk together until smooth. Transfer to a mason jar or airtight container and place in refrigerator for storage.

I used mine to dress a simple kale salad with chick peas, and it was delish! Although next time I’ll add in some quinoa to make it a complete meal 🙂

kale sald with red miso dressing

Do you use miso? What for??

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I absolutely love miso! I don’t use it often enough though. I really like the idea of using it in a dressing! Thanks 🙂

    Reply
  2. Whatever you put in your salad
    dressing.. it is ALWAYS GOOD!
    Thanks for miso idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

