A recipe I’m loving right now, PLUS my next adventure!

jack-o-lanterns

Happy almost Halloween everyone!

I’m a day late on my announcement, so I’ll just get right to it. The next item to be scratched off the Final Countdown list iiiiiss……..

Traveling around IRELAND!!!

Yup. But not just any trip to Ireland. Did I mention that we will be in Dublin for their Saint Patrick’s Day celebrations?? I didn’t? Yeah, well…..were going to be there for their SAINT PATRICK’S DAY celebrations!!!!

For anyone who has been following this blog, you know that Chris and I love St. Patrick’s Day and that I have Irish blood in me (remember the Green Pancakes this year?). What you don’t know, is that neither of us has ever traveled outside the U.S. and Canada. So for our first, official international travel, we decided go big or go home. Seriously. Dublin to Cork to Killarney to Limerick to Galway and back to Dublin.

We don’t even have passports yet.

Fear not, it’s at the top of our list.

But, our flights are booked, the planning has begun, and I’m looking for any tips you can throw my way.

In the meantime, I wanted to share a delicious pumpkin pie recipe from Susan over at Fat Free Vegan that’s oil free, gluten-free, and amazing. You can find her Impossible Vegan Pumpkin Pie recipe here.

And just to show you how delicious it really is. Here’s a picture to prove it.

amazing pumpkin pie
And another….

amazing pumpkin pie slice
A few alterations I made to the recipe:

  • Didn’t use Ener-G egg replacer, instead I chose one from her list. Remember, she wants you to use an egg replacer for 2 eggs. Her list gives you alternatives for 1 egg, so be sure to double whichever you choose. I ended up using the baking soda/powder, flour, and water mixture.
  • Kept in the 1/4 cup water, even though she says not to if you don’t use Ener-G egg replacer. It was too thick to blend, so I even ended up adding another 1/2 cup of water.
  • Used pumpkin pie spice instead of nutmeg, and didn’t have ground cloves.
  • Used brown rice flour.

If anyone makes this and uses an alternative sugar (or less sugar) and it turns out, let me know! Would love to make it again with out the white processed stuff.

On another note, we’re all preparing for Hurricane Sandy here on the East Coast. So if you’re in her path, stay safe! And have a wonderful, lazy Sunday 🙂

Sláinte!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. This looks really yummy!

    Reply
  2. Oooooh. This looks right up my alley, and I just may be interested in taking on that sugar cutting challenge – it’s kind of my thing. 😉 Thanks so much for sharing. I’ll be thinking of this picture when the lights are out and the wind is blowing.

    Reply
    • Yes, please! I would love for you to take this on. I have just enough fresh pumpkin left in my fridge to make another one! Stay safe during the storm. I just took a walk down by the water and everyone is boarding up their homes. Yikes!

      Reply
  3. Hey girl! So exciting you’re going to Ireland! I lived there for a year so if you need any tips I definitely have a few- especially for Dublin 🙂

    Just FYI- Dublin and St. Pats- so overwhelming! Be prepared for loads of crowds, lots of drunk tourists, and general rowdiness. Also there’s a parade which is awesome! They don’t do Santa Claus Parades- looked at me like I was crazy when I asked, but they definitely do one for St Patrick’s!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

